Welcome to Agudath Achim

Agudath Achim is a warm, welcoming, inclusive conservative congregation located close to the Midtown section of Little Rock, Arkansas. Individuals and families of all backgrounds and levels of observance are welcome. Our synagogue combines meaningful Shabbat services, traditional services on all Jewish holidays, education and fun social events to bring together a diverse group of members of all ages and backgrounds. Visit us. Call us. We are open and welcoming. See why Agudath Achim is more than a congregation. We’re a family.

Learn MoreView Services

Today is the

Volunteers Needed!

Click here to learn more

Volunteers for ​MEALS FOR STUDENTS​ Needed
While area schools are closed for the COVID-19 situation, a group of organizations are working together to provide meals for students and their families. So far, over ​74,000​ meals have beendistributed!They need volunteers to support this Meals for Students effort.​ While they understand theneed for social distancing at this time, they have implemented important health and safetyprotocols in the kitchen and meal packaging area. If you are healthy, between the ages of18-65, and would like to volunteer to package meals or serve on our distribution team, ​please let Susan Weinstein know ​at 501-240-3400 or ​Weinstein.sue@gmail.com

Click the link below for more information and to volunteer

Volunteers for MEALS FOR STUDENTS Needed

Census Day has come and gone, but U.S. Census Bureau operations are still ongoing. Please complete your questionnaire today and help us spread the word that the #2020Census helps determine the distribution of billions of federal dollars and our representation in the Nation’s capital. As we take on the current challenges, we must remember an undercount could impact funding for hospital services, the number of new community health centers built, and the location of hospital facilities for the next decade. Make sure to tell your family and friends to complete to the census today at 2020CENSUS.GOV. Can we count on you?

May 28th - 31st, 2020Yizkor

Thursday, May 28th
Erev Shavuot Candle Lighting   7:57PM

Friday, May 29th
Shabbat Candle Lighting   7:57PM

Saturday, May 30th
Shabbat Services Cancelled
Shabbat Ends   9:01PM
Havdalah Service (on Zoom)   9:00PM

Sunday, May 31st
Weekly Torah Study (on WEBEX)   10:00AM
Shavuot – Yiskor Service (on Zoom)   11:00am

Sunday, May 31, 11:00AM
We will be having a Zoom Shavuut Yizkor Service led by Student Rabbi Ben Freed.
Please Zoom with us!

Sip & Schmooze Wednesday, June 3rd at 5:00PM
Let’s visit, catch up, sip your favorite beverage and have fun!
Zoom with us!

President’s Message
Hello everyone,
I hope all are well and handling our current separateness as well as possible.  I thought I would share some Synagogue news, since, while we cannot meet in person, we are still planning and doing.

There are several opportunities for us to engage every week.

  • Sunday mornings at 10 AM we have Torah study.
  • Wednesday evenings at 5 PM we do a social Sip & Schmooze.  This is a Zoom and the same link is used every week.
  • Friday evenings there is a pre-Kabbalat Shabbat service with Rabbi Ben’s NYC congregation, but this won’t happen this week as it will be Shavuot.  Look for Rabbi Ben’s weekly message for that link.  See about Shavuot opportunities below.
  • Saturday evenings at 9 PM we’re doing a brief Havdalah service.

In other news, we zoomed a board meeting this week and have voted to purchase new Siddurim and Chumashim.  These will be replacing our aging prayer books, many of which are in poor condition.  They will be the Conservative Siddur Lev Shalem as well as the Chumash Etz Hayim.  Look for more about this in the coming weeks!!

We will not be resuming in-person services until we feel it is safe for us to gather again.  I have named a task force to look into what this might look like as well as planning for our High Holidays during this Covid pandemic.

Shavuot begins tonight, Thursday evening.  We have the opportunity to join in a service through Rabbi Ben’s Riverdale, NY congregation at 4:30 PM.  If you want to join them for Yizkor, that begins at 4 PM.

On Sunday, May 31, at 11 AM, Rabbi Ben will lead our congregation in a Yizkor service.  While it is after Shavuot, it is the best timing for us since we cannot do this during the holiday itself.

Also, the United Synagogue Conservative Judaism along with the Rabbinical Assembly are doing some livestreaming events.  We hope you’ll join as many as you can.

Tikkun Leil Shavuot: Torah from Coast to Coast

A Movement-wide event across North America, Thursday, May 28, 9 PM EDT – Friday, May 29, 9 AM EDT (6 PM – 6 AM PDT), held in accordance with the guidelines of the Committee on Jewish Law and Standards. It will feature keynotes, panels, discussions, and music from master teachers across the continent.
See the Full Schedule and speakers line up here.

Live Events:

Happy Anniversary
Jun 1st – Charles & Martha Alman

Happy Birthday
Jun 2nd – Spence Storthz
Jun 3rd – Bonnie Jacobson & Rebecca Sherman
Jun 4th – Jordan Kaiser

Upcoming Yahrzeits
SIVAN  8th – (May 31st) – Elma Frenkel
SIVAN  10th – (Jun 2nd) – Bessie Schlosberg
SIVAN  11th – (Jun 3rd) – Leon Itzkowitz
SIVAN  12th – (Jun 4th) – Isaac Hefler
SIVAN  13th – (Jun 5th) – Mark Krain

Refuah Shleimah- wishing a speedy recovery to:
Irving Balto (Yizchok ben Chana),
Jerry Cohen (Yosef ben Leah),
Alan Nussbaum (Josef ben Shana Bala),
Rabbi Kalman Winnick (Kalman Ibn ben Devora),
Brian Zubkoff (Dov Ber Mordechai ben Gittel),
Nechie Kilimnick (Chaya Nechca bat Riva Leah),
Alina Kuperman (Elana bat Mira),
Arlene Margolis (Chana Esther bat Shaindel),
Judith Rosenblat (Yehudit bat Rut),
Rabbi Stephanie Ruskay (HaRav Shirah Rachel bat Batya),
Kim Smith